Getting to know Michele Thomson

Scotland’s Michele Thomson claimed her first LET Access Series victory in May at the Ribeira Sacra Partrimonio de la Humanidad International Ladies Open and is enjoying a solid start to her LET Access Series season, with two further top ten finishes Michele currently lies 3rd on the LETAS Order of Merit.

Michele answers some quick questions…

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items would you take with you?

My bed, phone, golf clubs

If you could have an unlimited storage of one thing, what would it be?


What is your favourite activity you do when you want to relax?

Walking my dog and watching movies

Do you like cooking? If positive, what do you like / prefer to cook when you are at home with friends?

Fajitas because it’s the easiest thing to cook

How do you spend your time in the airports?

Trying to connect to the free internet

What is the weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

I don’t eat anything weird; I stick to the things I know.

If you had one word to describe yourself, what would it be?


Do you support a sports team? If yes who, and what sport?

Aberdeen Football Club and Manchester United

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?


What advice would you give to aspiring amateurs looking to turn professional?

Don’t turn professional to early!

If you could have one celebrity follower on twitter who would it be?

Khloe Kardashian

Tell us something you hate doing. Why?

I hate doing the dishes or ironing!

What is your best travel tip?

Always have your phone fully charged.

If you could learn any language fluently, what would it be?


Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

I would like to see myself back playing on the LET with a full card.

What has been you biggest golfing achievement?

Winning on the LET Access Series and playing for GB+I in the Curtis Cup.

What is your favourite golf course to play and why?

St Andrews because it’s the home of golf

Do you have any superstitions before playing golf?

I don’t like playing with the golf balls numbered 3 or 4.

Age you started playing golf? Who /how did you get involved in golf?

I started playing when I was 11, my dad and brother introduced me when they were playing their weekly medal.

Age you obtained your first handicap?


What were your first set of golf clubs?

Howson half set. Every time I lowered my handicap my dad bought me another club to add to my set.

Your lowest ever round of golf? Where and when?

7 under at MacDonald Cardrona on the Paul Lawrie Tartan Tour

What’s your favorite club in your bag?

54 degree wedge 

What’s in your golf bag? (apart from clubs and golf balls)

Sharpie pens, food and lucky markers

What is your average driving distance?

250 yards

What tournament are you looking forward to most this season?

Germany because I’ve never been to Hamburg

If you could pick a dream fourball partner who would it be?

David Beckham

What is your favourite distance to practise?

Anything under 100 yards

What’s the best piece of advice you have ever received?

To be yourself, no matter what!

Your team would be composed by…

  • My golf coach is Neil Marr
  • My dad classes himself as my manager